Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory

April 19, 2023

LLNL staff scientists Alison Christopherson and Art Pak have been elected Kavli Fellows of the U.S. National Academy of Sciences (NAS). As new Kavli Fellows, they participated in NAS’s annual Kavli Frontiers of Science U.S. symposium, which brings together outstanding young scientists to discuss exciting advances and opportunities in a broad range of disciplines.

“This was one of the best conferences I’ve ever attended,” Christopherson said of the symposium, held March 2-4 in Irvine. “There was such a broad range of disciplines, from oceanographers who scuba dive to conduct research to data scientists working on the new James Webb telescope. I especially appreciated the diversity of the attendees.”

Art PakAt the Kavli Frontiers of Science U.S. symposium, Art Pak described LLNL’s fusion ignition achievement as part of a panel on nuclear fusion energy. Photos by Félicie Albert

“It’s a real honor to be chosen as a Kavli Fellow,” Pak said. “The symposium was a wonderful and stimulating experience as I got to hear from and interact with leading experts in a diverse and exciting range of fields from machine learning, astrophysics, and climate science.”

Alison Christopherson
Christopherson’s poster on inertial fusion energy was an attraction at the Kavli Frontiers of Science U.S. symposium.

Pak gave an overview of LLNL’s fusion ignition result as part of a panel discussion on nuclear fusion energy with Richard Magee of TAE Technologies and Cami Collins of Oak Ridge National Laboratory.

"Participants were very interested not only in the technical details, but in hearing and understanding how the collective efforts from hundreds of scientists, engineers, and technicians from multiple disciplines came together to enable this remarkable achievement,” he said.

Christopherson presented a poster on inertial fusion energy (IFE), describing NIF’s fusion achievement, the potential for IFE, and the future of the field. Both engagements drew considerable attention at the symposium.

Christopherson, who joined LLNL in 2020 after completing her Ph.D. at the University of Rochester, works in design physics in the Weapons and Complex Integration Directorate. Pak is the team lead for stagnation science in the NIF & Photon Science Directorate.

Christopherson and Pak are the Lab’s eighth and ninth Kavli Fellows since the program began in 1989. Other LLNL Kavli Fellows are Félicie Albert, Jonathan Belof, Ken Caldeira, Henry Chapman, Tom Guilderson, Stefan Hau-Riege, and Michael MacCracken.

The symposium is sponsored by the Kavli Foundation, founded by the late Fred Kavli to advance science and promote understanding of scientific research.

More Information:

Félicie Albert Elected NAS Kavli Fellow,” NIF & Photon Science News, September 16, 2020

—Patricia Koning

Follow us on Twitter: @lasers_llnl