April 3, 2024
Previous Next

Postdocs to Attend Lindau Nobel Laureate Meeting

By Anne M. Stark

Getting the chance to meet and mingle with scientists who have achieved Nobel Prize winning greatness will be the reality for five Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory (LLNL) postdoctoral appointees selected to attend the 73rd annual Lindau Nobel Laureate meetings. Tina Ebert, Elizabeth Grace and Raspberry Simpson were selected as the 2024 LLNL cohort; Tomi Akindele and Andrew Rowberg also will attend in person since COVID-19 necessitated virtual gatherings in their selection year.

The Lindau meetings alternate between the disciplines of physics, chemistry, physiology or medicine. Held in Germany this summer, this international scientific forum is dedicated to the physics discipline. Students and postdocs from around the world meet with Nobel laureates to exchange knowledge, ideas and experience among scientists of different generations, cultures and disciplines. This year’s selected postdocs’ interests center on laser plasma physics research.  Read more...