Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory

LLNL Scientists Featured at APS Plasma Physics Meeting

Science Reporters Visit NIF

Constantin Haefner Elected Fellow of the Optical Society

Constantin Haefner, NIF & Photon Science program director for Advanced Photon Technologies, has been elected a fellow of the Optical Society of America (OSA). Haefner was recognized for “pioneering next generation, high-average-power petawatt laser systems enabling a new arena of applications and sustained advancement of state-of-the art technologies in large-scale, high intensity, peak-power laser systems.”

Constantin HaefnerConstantin Haefner led the development of the High-repetition-rate Advanced Petawatt Laser System (HAPLS) at LLNL. Credit: Jason Laurea

Haefner has more than 15 years of experience in developing and delivering energetic solid-state laser systems for laboratory high energy density (HED) physics research. He is an internationally respected expert for solid-state, high-average-power and high-peak-power laser development and systems engineering. As APT program director, he leads the research and development of advanced laser systems and technologies in support of national security missions and scientific and industrial applications.

Energetic solid-state laser systems are used in a variety of research areas, such as inertial confinement fusion (ICF), material physics, and high energy density physics. These lasers are used for delivering high laser pulse energies in the joule to megajoule (MJ) range in a very short time to a target, creating extremely high temperatures, pressures and fields comparable to the inside of the Sun.

Specifically, when interacting with matter, high-energy, high-peak-power laser systems generate high-brilliance x-ray sources or particle beams with unique characteristics—also known as secondary sources. These are utilized for diagnostics in HED and ICF, high-resolution imaging of dense objects, imaging of ultrafast processes in nature, and other applications. They are gaining increasing interest for potential industrial and medical applications such as non-destructive evaluation of objects, national-security missions, production of nuclear tracers relevant to medical imaging techniques, hadron cancer therapy, x-ray imaging at reduced dose for the patient, and many others.

The technical challenge for the design, construction, and operation of these lasers is enormous and is pushing laser technology to its limits. The program recently developed and constructed the High-repetition-rate Advanced Petawatt Laser System (HAPLS) for the European Extreme Light Infrastructure Facility in the Czech Republic. HAPLS is the first diode-pumped laser system in the world capable of running 10 hertz (10 pulses per second) and delivering petawatt pulses with a photon flux of 1.1 MJ per hour, opening the door to exploring real-world applications and precision science.

State-of-the-Art Technologies

Haefner joined LLNL in 2006 and focused his research on developing state-of-the-art short-pulse laser systems and technologies for the NIF & Photon Science directorate. He served as the chief scientist for the Advanced Radiographic Capability (ARC) multi-kilojoule laser system and developed the technologies for several ARC subsystems. Before joining LLNL, he was chief laser scientist at the Nevada Terawatt in Reno, Nevada, where he led the design and development of high-energy multi-terawatt laser systems for HED physics research.

Haefner received his diploma in physics in 1999 from the University of Constance, Germany, and his Ph.D. in laser physics in 2003 from the University of Heidelberg, Germany.

“It is a great honor to be elected a fellow of the Optical Society of America and to join such a prestigious group,” Haefner said. “It reflects great credit on the work we do at LLNL, and I have been fortunate to get to collaborate with a truly amazing, dedicated and incredibly talented team—instrumental in our pursuit of cutting-edge laser technology.”

Founded in 1916, OSA is the leading professional association in optics and photonics, home to accomplished science, engineering, and business leaders from all over the world. Fellow membership in OSA is limited to no more than 10 percent of the membership and is reserved for members who have served with distinction in the advancement of optics and photonics.


LLNL Scientists Featured at APS Plasma Physics Meeting

LLNL scientists had prominent roles at the American Physical Society Division of Plasma Physics meeting in Milwaukee, Wisconsin, on Oct. 23-27.

They included the winner of the James Clerk Maxwell Prize for Plasma Physics; a co-recipient of the John Dawson Award for Excellence in Plasma Physics; the winner of the Katherine E. Weimer Award for Women in Plasma Physics; and presenters of one tutorial lecture and ten invited talks.

APS Physics Logo
  • Dmitri Ryutov won the James Clerk Maxwell Prize for Plasma Physics for contributions to the theoretical plasma physics of low- and high-density plasmas, open and closed magnetic configurations, and laboratory and astrophysical systems.
  • Andrew Mackinnon was co-recipient of the John Dawson Award for Excellence in Plasma Physics along with Chikang Li, Fredrick S├ęguin, and Richard Petrasso from MIT, Marco Borghesi from The Queen’s University, Belfast, and Oswald Willi from Heinrich Heine University, Düsseldorf, for pioneering use of proton radiography to reveal new aspects of flow, instabilities, and fields in high-energy-density plasmas.
  • Félicie Albert won the Katherine E. Weimer Award for Women in Plasma Physics for pioneering development and characterization of x-ray sources from laser-wakefield accelerators and Compton scattering gamma-ray sources for applications in high energy density science and nuclear resonance fluorescence.
  • Brian Spears gave a one-hour tutorial lecture on “Contemporary Machine Learning: Techniques for Practitioners in the Physical Sciences,” while Debbie Callahan, Andrea Kritcher, Suzanne Ali, Andrew MacPhee, Steve MacLaren, Mark May, Bob Kirkwood, Dan Casey, Louisa Pickworth, and Hans Rinderknecht presented invited talks.


Science Reporters Visit NIF

Jeff Wisoff Briefs Journalists Touring NIFNIF & Photon Science Principal Associate Director Jeff Wisoff briefs a group of science reporters who toured NIF on Oct. 30. They were among more than 1,300 registered attendees from more than 70 countries who attended the World Conference of Science Journalists in San Francisco from Oct. 26 to 30.
Top of Page