Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory

July 21, 2022

In this video, Jeff Wisoff, Principal Associate Director of the National Ignition Facility & Photon Science Directorate, celebrates 50 years of laser leadership at Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory.

LLNL’s experimental laser programs were consolidated into a single division, known as Y Division, on July 10, 1972. From this beginning came a series of increasingly complex and energetic laser systems that enabled cutting-edge research in inertial confinement fusion, material properties under extreme conditions, and high energy density science, all of which today support NNSA’s Stockpile Stewardship program.

More Information:

A Legacy of Lasers and Laser Fusion Pioneers

—Jason Laurea

Follow us on Twitter: @lasers_llnl