Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory

American Physical Society (APS) is one of the most important professional societies for gauging the quality of R&D done at the Laboratory. The APS sponsors a number of awards including the John Dawson Award of Excellence in Plasma Physics, James Clerk Maxwell Prize for Plasma Physics, as well as Dinstinguised Lectuerer and Doctoral Dissertation prizes.


Year Name of Award and Citation
Yu-hsin Chen 2012 Marshall N. Rosenbluth Outstanding Doctoral Thesis For measurements and theory of the ultrafast, high field, nonlinear response of gases near the ionization threshold, characterization of femtosecond plasma filaments, and demonstration that femtosecond filamentation requires plasma stabilization.
Debra Callahan, Laurent Divol, Bob Kirkwood, Nathan Meezan, Pierre Michel, Edward Williams, and George Kyrala (LANL) 2012 John Dawson Award for Excellence in Plasma Physics Predicting and demonstrating the technique of laser scatter on self-generated plasma-optics gratings that enables generation and redirection of high-energy laser beams important for indirect drive inertial confinement fusion and high-power laser-matter interactions.
Max Tabak and Scott Wilks 2006 John Dawson Award for Excellence in Plasma Physics Developing the fast ignition inertial fusion concept and for demonstrating key aspects of it in a series of experiments that have catalyzed the work-wide effort on the concept. They shared the award with Kazuo Tanaka of Osaka University and Peter Norreys of the Rutherford Appleton Laboratory.
Siegfried Glenzer 2003 John Dawson Award for Excellence in Plasma Physics Elegant diagnostics using collective Thomson scattering together with x-ray spectroscopy which greatly advanced the understanding of the complex plasma environment in laser driven hohlraums used in inertial confinement fusion.
Don Correll 2002 Award from the Executive Committee of the Division of Plasma Physics Recognition and Appreciation of Outstanding Contributions to the Education of Future Scientists and Citizens and of Leadership of the Education and Outreach Committee.
Gilbert W. Collins, Luiz B. Da Silva, Peter M. Celliers, and Robert C. Cauble 1998 John Dawson Award for Excellence in Plasma Physics An exquisite series of experiments using high intensity lasers to measure the high pressure properties of hydrogen across the molecular insulator to monatomic metal transition.
Bruce A. Remington, Charles P. Verdon, David H. Munro, Joseph D. Kilkenny, Russell J. Wallace, S. Gail Glendinning, Stephen V. Weber, and Steven W. Haan 1995 John Dawson Award for Excellence in Plasma Physics Outstanding theoretical work, computational design and analysis, and experimental work leading to quantitative and predictive understanding of the Rayleigh-Taylor instability in high energy density plasmas. They shared the award with James P. Knauer of the Laboratory for Laser Energetics at the University of Rochester.
Mordecai D. Rosen, Dennis L. Matthews, Peter L. Hagelstein, and E. Michael Campbell 1990 John Dawson Award for Excellence in Plasma Physics For the first laboratory demonstration of a soft X-Ray laser, achieved through pioneering laser target design, theoretical modeling of the states of highly ionized atoms in laser produced plasmas, and novel spectroscopic diagnostics of such plasmas. They shared the award with Szymon Suckewer of Princeton University.