Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory

Established in 1999 by the Fusion Energy Division of the American Nuclear Society (ANS) and named after LLNL’s co-founder, the Edward Teller Medal recognizes pioneering research and leadership in the use of laser and ion-particle beams to produce unique high-temperature and high-density matter for scientific research and for controlled thermonuclear fusion.


Year Name of Award and Citation
Susana Reyes 2012 Mary Jane Oestmann Professional Women's Achievement Award Leadership in developing detailed hazard and safety analyses for both inertial and magnetic fusion facilities, including NIF and ITER, and future power reactors.
William J. Hogan 1996 Outstanding Achievement Award, Fusion Energy Division Pioneering work in inertial fusion energy.